The award-winning St Mullins Heritage Centre is located in a former Church of Ireland church, built in 1811, in the picturesque village of St. Mullins, South County Carlow. The village takes its name from St Moling, who established one of Ireland’s earliest monastic settlements here in the seventh century. The building is bordered by these historic ruins and nestled between the Blackstairs Mountains and Brandon Hill within the beautiful valley of The River Barrow.
The Centre was opened in the 1980s in order to preserve the rich heritage of the townland, by presenting an exhibition which interprets its varied history, and by displaying a collection of artifacts. The exhibition is open to the public all year round, and we also offer tours for individuals and groups by prior arrangement. We specialise in school tours, which are linked to The National Curriculum, and which can be tailored to your specific needs. The Heritage Centre also welcomes genealogy queries relating to St. Mullins or the neighboring parishes in Wexford and Kilkenny. Please note that there is a charge of €25.00 for Genealogy research cases.
In October 2010, St. Mullins Heritage Centre was awarded the Mícháel Deering Cup for Community Endeavour by Carlow County Council.
In June 2011, St. Mullins Heritage Centre received the Heritage Group Award for South East Ireland, presented by the Munster Express & Dooleys Hotel, Waterford
OPENING TIMES AND ADMISSION FEES
Autumn/Winter 2017 Opening Times
Friday 12 to 5.00pm
Sunday 12 to 4.30pm
Tours can be arranged outside of opening hours by prior arrangement. Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Times may vary because the centre is run on a voluntary basis, but updates will be shown on our Facebook page.
Adults €2, Children Free