Award-Winning Heritage Centre

St. Mullins is a picturesque rural community in South Carlow, nestling between the Blackstairs Mountains and Brandon Hill, on the banks of the river Barrow.

The area gets its name from St. Moling (614-696). The townland has physical remains from many of the significant periods in Irish history - an early Christian period monastic settlement, a Norman Motte and Bailey, a large graveyard with many insurgents from the 1798 Rebellion buried within, nineteenth century flour and woollen mills, landscape with a long farming tradition, and the river with its history in both fishing and canal boat transportation.

The award-winning Muintir na Tíre Heritage Centre (see below for opening hours) is located in a former Church of Ireland church built in 1811. Between January and May 2010, the fourth year studio at the School of Architecture at UCD designed and built a new exhibition to tell the townland's story and display the Centre's collection of artifacts. The Heritage Centre was officially re-opened on May 22nd, 2010.

In addition to the exhibition, which is open to the public, the Heritage Centre also welcomes genealogy queries relating to St. Mullins or the neighbouring parishes in Wexford and Kilkenny.